The road to “ NewRV

To conduct scientific research and comply with national and international monitoring requirements, many of the Belgian scientific institutes and universities regularly make use of RV Belgica – the Belgian oceanographic research vessel – to go out at sea. The sea-going scientists observe and count, fish and grab, measure and test, etc. and use a wide range of scientific tools to collect their data, that are analysed and translated to new insights and/or policy advice at a later stage. By doing so, the RV Belgica is not only relevant to scientists and policy makers, but also influences the everyday life of all Belgians, also of those who live inland. As a considerable amount of knowledge is required to keep our North Sea viable and profitable, it is in everyone’s interest that the deep blue motor of the North Sea keeps on humming, and that our understanding of our seas keeps growing. Consider for example sustainable fishing, wind energy, sand extraction and tourism, that are all economic sectors that profit in one way or another from the work carried out on board of RV Belgica.

NewRV?
The next RV ?

After more than 33 years (RV Belgica was built in Temse in 1984) of watching over the fortunes of the North Sea for around 200 days at sea every year, it is clear to both the public and policymakers that a replacement for RV Belgica, for the time being nicknamed via its project name “ NewRV ”, is sorely needed. Building a new research vessel is the only way to further expand the scientific time series that were constructed in the Belgian part of the North Sea by the current RV Belgica, and to ensure that we can keep fulfilling the Belgian monitoring commitments. Also embarking on new scientific discoveries, and setting sail to areas outside the geographical scope of the other vessels that are available to science in Belgium or that cannot be reconciled in the ships’ agendas, will become difficult in absence of a RV Belgica-type research vessel.

After consultation of the scientific users, a feasibility study (including a conceptual design study) and tens of budgetary and technical information sessions, the Council of Ministers officially agreed with the replacement of RV Belgica by providing the necessary budgets (31st of March 2017) and launching the public tender (12th of June 2017). The “ NewRV ” will be a multidisciplinary oceanographic research vessel, offering room for more researchers and spending more time at sea on an annual basis (around 300 days per year). It will be built according to the strictest standards regarding energy use, emissions (green ship) and sound production (acoustically silent ship), and will be equipped with state-of-the-art acoustic underwater sensors that allow analysis of the water column (fauna included) as well as the bottom and substrate. The ship will also serve as a platform for European collaboration, and will be adapted to the existing modern European Marine Research Infrastructure (also opening up research opportunities for Belgian researchers, such as research that requires the use of Remotely Operated Vehicles, Autonomous Underwater Vehicles, etc.).

More details on the technical specifications of the “ NewRV ” can be consulted on the accompanying poster.

Details on the timing of the tender, design and build processes are displayed on the timeline below.

  • 2005

    Agreement

    Agreement by Federal Belgian state to launch a feasibility study for the replacement or the modernization of the RV A962 Belgica

  • 2008

    Scientific working groups

    Scientific needs

  • 2009

    Feasibility study

    → Only option: RV A962 Belgica needs to be replaced by “ NewRV

  • 2013

    Agreement

    Agreement by Federal Belgian state with the outcome of the feasibility study and to launch a budget study for the replacement or the modernization of the RV A962 Belgica

  • 2014

    Agreement

    Agreement by Federal Belgian state with the outcome of the budget study
    → Best option: RV A962 Belgica needs to be replaced by “ NewRV

  • 2016

    Principle agreement

    Principle agreement by Federal Belgian state to replace RV A962 Belgica and to start up the tendering process via a cooperation between Defence, BELSPO & RBINS

  • 2017

    31 March 2017

    Agreement by Federal Belgian state to replace RV Belgica


    12 June 2017

    Launch of public tender


    22 September 2017

    Deadline submission of offers


    End of 2017

    Award of contract for design and build

  • 2018-

    January – August 2018

    Detailed design by contracted shipyard


    September 2018 – 2020

    Build of “ NewRV ” by contracted shipyard

  • 2020

    Autumn 2020

    Commissioning of “ NewRV

Vers le « NewRV »

Aux fins de la recherche scientifique et pour satisfaire aux obligations nationales et internationales en matière de surveillance, de nombreux instituts et universités belges utilisent régulièrement le RV Belgica – le navire de recherche océanographique belge – pour rejoindre leur zone d’étude et y effectuer des recherches. En mer, les scientifiques observent et comptent, pêchent et capturent, prennent des mesures et procèdent à des tests, etc. et utilisent tout un arsenal d’instruments scientifiques pour recueillir des données. Celles-ci sont ensuite analysées et traduites en nouvelles connaissances et/ou recommandations politiques. L’on voit ainsi que le RV Belgica n’est pas seulement utile aux scientifiques et aux responsables politiques, mais qu’il influence aussi la vie quotidienne de tous les Belges, même ceux qui habitent à l’intérieur du pays. Vu les très nombreuses connaissances nécessaires pour garantir la viabilité et la rentabilité de notre mer du Nord, il est dans notre intérêt à tous de veiller à préserver l’or bleu de la mer du Nord et d’améliorer en permanence notre compréhension de nos mers. Les secteurs économiques qui profitent d’une façon ou d’une autre des travaux réalisés à bord du RV Belgica sont nombreux : songeons par exemple à la pêche durable, à l’énergie éolienne, à l’extraction du sable et au tourisme.

NewRV?
Le prochain RV ?

Après plus de 33 ans (RV Belgica a été construit à Tamise, en 1984) de bons et loyaux services passés à veiller sur la mer du Nord, à raison d’environ 200 jours en mer par an, il est apparu clairement, tant pour le grand public que pour les décideurs politiques que le RV Belgica devait absolument être remplacé. Son successeur a temporairement été baptisé le « NewRV », du nom du projet. La construction d’un nouveau navire de recherche est la seule façon de continuer à alimenter les séries temporelles scientifiques exécutées par l’actuel RV Belgica dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord et d’assurer que nous puissions continuer à satisfaire aux obligations belges en matière de surveillance. Le lancement de nouvelles aventures et campagnes scientifiques en dehors de la portée géographique d’autres navires utilisés dans le cadre de la recherche en Belgique, ou qui ne peuvent être intégrées dans leur calendrier d’activités, est par ailleurs difficile sans un nouveau navire.

Après consultation des utilisateurs scientifiques, une étude de faisabilité (notamment une étude préparatoire) et des dizaines de séances d’information techniques et budgétaires, le Conseil des ministres a donné officiellement son accord au remplacement du RV Belgica en octroyant les budgets nécessaires (31 mars 2017) et en lançant une procédure de marché public (12 juin). Le « NewRV » sera un navire océanographique multidisciplinaire qui pourra accueillir à son bord un plus grand nombre de scientifiques et qui passera davantage de temps en mer (environ 300 jours par an). Il sera construit dans le respect des normes les plus strictes en termes de consommation d’énergie, d’émissions (navire vert) et de pollution sonore (silence acoustique) et sera doté de capteurs sous-marins acoustiques dernier cri pour l’analyse de la colonne d’eau (y compris la faune), mais aussi du fond marin et du substrat. Ce navire servira également de plateforme pour la coopération européenne et sera adapté aux Infrastructures européennes modernes de recherche marine. Il offrira ainsi aux chercheurs belges de nouvelles possibilités, par exemple pour les recherches qui nécessitent des engins télécommandés (ROV – Remotely Operated Vehicles, ou AUV – Autonomous Underwater Vehicles).

Pour en savoir plus sur les spécifications techniques du « NewRV », consultez l’affiche en annexe (EN).

Les détails concernant le calendrier de la procédure de marché, les processus d’étude et de construction figurent sur la ligne du temps ci-dessous :

  • 2005

    Accord

    Accord de l'État fédéral belge pour le lancement d'une étude de faisabilité pour le remplacement ou la modernisation du RV A962 Belgica

  • 2008

    Groupes de travail scientifiques

    Besoins scientifiques

  • 2009

    Étude de faisabilité

    → Seule option : le RV A962 Belgica doit être remplacé par un nouveau navire « NewRV »

  • 2013

    Accord

    Accord de l'État fédéral belge sur le résultat de l'étude de faisabilité et sur le lancement d'une étude de financement pour le remplacement ou la modernisation du RV A962 Belgica

  • 2014

    Accord

    Accord de l'État fédéral belge sur le résultat de l'étude de financement
    → Meilleure option: le RV A962 Belgica doit être remplacé par un nouveau navire « NewRV »

  • 2016

    Accord de principe

    Accord de principe de l'État fédéral belge pour remplacer le RV A 962 Belgica et pour lancer le processus d'adjudication via une coopération entre la Défense, BELSPO et l’IRSNB

  • 2017

    31 Mars 2017

    Accord de l’État fédéral quant au remplacement de RV Belgica


    12 Juin 2017

    Lancement de la procédure de marché public


    22 Septembre 2017

    Date limite des offres


    Fin 2017

    Attribution du marché pour la conception et la construction

  • 2018-

    Janvier – Août 2018

    Projet détaillé par le chantier naval désigné


    Septembre 2018 – 2020

    Construction du « NewRV » par le chantier naval désigné

  • 2020

    Automne 2020

    Mise en service du « NewRV »