RV Belgica automated data acquisition (ODAS III)

Please begin by selecting a campaign on the 'Navigation' tab.

Time (CET)

About ODAS

What is ODAS III?

ODAS stands for Onboard Data Aquisition System. The system collects, processes and stores oceanographic, meteorological, navigation (position, heading and speed of the ship) and other data from various measuring equipment installed on board the RV Belgica. These measurements are transmitted every 10 minutes to the OD Nature Measurement Services Ostend (MSO) via a satellite link, where they are added to the ODAS database.

Which data is displayed on the visualisation tool?

The data displayed on this visualisation tool is only a subset of the full data available since 2004. The following policies have been applied to the data in this visualisation tool:

  • Data points are displayed only for every 10 minutes, despite availability of data with higher frequency.
  • The full details of data points are shown in the table view. On the map view approximately one obeservation point per hour is consultable.
  • If a data point has position information flagged unreliable, no measurements associated to that position are displayed, resulting in a gap in the time series.
  • If there are multiple sensors measuring the same parameter, an attempt has been made to choose automatically the most reliable one.
  • If a specific parameter has a non-zero quality flag, it is omitted from the results displayed.
  • Some values have been automatically calculated on the basis of other measured values.

Why does the number of the parameters vary?

The number and the quality of the working sensors on-board the RV Belgica has varied throughout its history, gradually increasing throughout the years. Since the installation of the Automatic Underway Measurement System (AUMS) in 2012, the number of the available parameters was increased and the resolution and reliability of many parameters measured was improved. MSO archives the entire history of automatic measurements since 1984. This visualisation tool displays for each point only those values which have no quality errors detected by the automatic checking routines.

Data policy

OD Nature provides the online ODAS III data 'as is' for informational purposes only. The automatically collected data released on this site in near real-time has not been subjected to human quality control and is as such not suitable for use as reference material of any kind. Requests for thoroughly controlled reference data can be made at the Belgian Marine Data Centre. The verified reference data can be requested for all the parameters available, at the best resolution available, including also measurements with quality problems accompanied by the appropriate quality flags. Exact information on how a specific parameter was measured using which equipment at a specific time is normally also available.

Système d'acquisition de données océanographiques du RV Belgica (ODAS III)

Heure (CET)

A propos d'ODAS

Qu'est ODAS III?

ODAS est l'acronyme de "Onboard Data Aquisition System". Ce système collecte, traite et stocke des données océanographiques, météorologiques et de navigation (position, direction et vitesse du navire) ainsi que d'autres types de données provenant de divers appareils de mesure installés à bord du RV Belgica. Ces mesures sont transmises toutes les dix minutes au Service de Mesures (MSO) de la DO Nature à Ostende via un lien satellitaire. Là, elles sont ajoutées à une base de données.

Quelles données sont-elles disponibles dans l'outil de visualisation?

Les données accessibles via l'outil de visualisation ne sont qu'un sous-ensemble de l'information disponible depuis 2004. Les regles suivantes sont d'application:

  • Les données sont visibles avec un intervale de 10 minutes entre elles, et ce malgré la disponibilité d'information à une fréquence plus élevée.
  • Le tableau de données donne accès à toutes les informations disponibles pour chaque point individuel. Sur la carte, par soucis de clarté, les points d'observations sont consultables par tranche d'une heure environ.
  • Lorsque la position géographique d'un point de mesure est incertaine, aucune mesure associée à ce point n'est rendue publique. Des périodes sans mesures sont donc possibles.
  • S'il existe plusieurs senseurs mesurant le même paramètre, un choix est fait pour que la mesure la plus fiable soit utilisée.
  • Un paramètre indiquant la fiabilité est associé à chaque mesure individuelle. Si ce paramètre interne au système de mesure n'est pas égal à zéro, la mesure individuelle n'est pas rendue publique.
  • Certaines valeurs sont calculées automatiquement en combinant plusieurs sources.

Pourquoi le nombre de paramètres varie-t-il?

Le nombre et la qualité des différents senseurs installés à bord du RV Belgica ont évolué et augmenté depuis l'installation initiale. Depuis l'installation du système AUMS ("Automatic Underway Measurement System") en 2012, le nombre de paramètres disponibles a grandement augmenté et tant la fiabilité que la résolution des mesures ont été améliorées. MSO archive l'historique complet de mesures automatiques (depuis 1984). Dans la présente application, seule une partie des mesures (pour lesquelles aucune suspicion de qualité douteuse n'existe) sont mises en ligne.

Politique concernant les données

La DO Nature rend publique l'information ODAS III disponible ici "telle-quelle", et uniquement à titre d'information. Les données mesurées automatiquement disponibles sur ce site n'ont été soumises à aucune vérification humaine et ne sont donc pas appropriées pour être utilisées dans quelque matériel de référence que ce soit. Des requêtes d'obtention de données dûment vérifiées peuvent être faites au Belgian Marine Data Centre. Les données vérifiées peuvent être obtenues pour tous les paramètres, à la meilleure résolution disponible, en ce compris les données pour lesquelles de questions de fiabilité existent; les "quality flags" liés à chaque observations sont fournis en parallèle. Des informations concernant la façon dont les paramètres sont mesurés sont en principe également disponibles.