meterological forcing

Everything related to the preinstalled test cases in COHERENS. Additionally, you can find here the necessary files to setup a test case.If you have developed a new test case and you want to share it with other users, feel free to post a new thread.

Moderator: Katrijn

sara.oceanography
Full name: sara salehi

meterological forcing

Post by sara.oceanography »

Hi everybody,
I am new to coherens and this forum, I hope to get much useful information here.
I could install coherens V2.11 and define my gride and tidal constituents, Now I am going to define meteorological forcing from ECMWf database. I know coherens can read Net CDF format, too. I did not see any example to read this format in the test cases.
I would be grateful if you could help me to do it. if someone did it, please put your code in the forum. I really need it immediately. Please help :|
Kind Regards,
Sara
Katrijn
Full name: Katrijn Baetens

Re: meterological forcing

Post by Katrijn »

Hi Sara,
Here a piece of code I'm using to read bathymetry data in netcdf:
Notice that the fact that it's already in netCDF is determined when defining modfiles(io_modgrd,1,1)%form = 'N'
in the subroutine usrdef_mod_params.
Do not forget this USE statement:
USE inout_routines, ONLY: close_file, close_filepars, open_file, open_filepars

CALL open_filepars(modfiles(io_modgrd,1,1))
iunit = modfiles(io_modgrd,1,1)%iunit

!2. Water depths [m]
!-------------------
!
CALL cf90_inquire(iunit,nvariables=nvars)

DO ivar=1,nvars
CALL cf90_inquire_variable(iunit,ivar,varname)
IF (varname.EQ.'DEPTH_OOST') THEN
CALL cf90_get_var(iunit,ivar,xdat,1)
depmeanglb(1:250,1:125) = xdat(:,:)
END IF
ENDDO

Hope this helps!!!
Katrijn
sara.oceanography

Dear Katrin,
Thank you so much for sharing your information. sorry, I was not able to delete the extra post.