Offshore wind farms in Belgium

Projects » Legislation » Monitoring »


As an energy source, wind is inexhaustible. The generation of wind-powered electricity is free of waste and harmful gases. Wind farms reduce CO2 emissions and help us meet the sustainable and renewable energy targets imposed on Belgium by the European Union. For Belgium, offshore wind energy is an important source of renewable energy. The core European objectives include a 20 % reduction in greenhouse gas emissions compared to 1990 levels and extraction of 20 % of our total energy from sustainable sources. In this context, the Belgian targets are : a 15 % reduction in CO2 emissions and a 13 % share of sustainable energy in end-user power consumption.

The Minister for the North Sea has taken the initiative to devote an area of 238 km² in the Belgian part of the North Sea to the production of renewable energy under the Marine Spatial Plan of March 2014 (FR, NL). This area is known as the wind turbine area and occupies about 7 % of the Belgian North Sea.

There are plans to build between 409 and 433 turbines in the wind turbine area by 2020, yielding a total capacity of 2,230 to 2,280 MW. This means that, in principle, wind farms will account for around 10 % of total Belgian electricity generation and will power close to half of the homes in Belgium. Given a 50 % capacity factor for wind farms and an installed annual electricity capacity of 20,000 MW in Belgium, we can assume that by 2020 offshore wind farms will account for 5 % of the total, or a quarter of the energy which Belgium is required to generate from sustainable sources under the core European objectives. Offshore wind energy is therefore an important share of the national 13 % sustainable energy target.

Legislation

The process of actually setting up a wind farm project calls for several permits, including a domain concession and an environmental permit for the construction and exploitation of the wind park.

The licensing procedure for every wind farm project is subject to the law on the Protection of the Marine Environment (20 January 1999, Belgian Official Journal 12 March 1999) and two royal decrees, KB VEMA of 7 September 2003 (amended on 26 December 2013) concerning the procedure for licensing and authorising the activity and KB MEB of 9 September 2003 (amended on 26 December 2013) concerning rules on the assessment of the environmental impact.

The following procedure for permission to build and operate a wind farm is based on the two royal decrees mentioned above.

The applicant submits an environmental impact study (EIS) to the Scientific Service Management Unit of the North Sea Mathematical Models (MUMM) of the OD Nature. MUMM then produces an environmental impact assessment (EIA). As a part of its assessment MUMM may, where necessary, carry out or commission additional tests and studies. There is also a public consultation process : public consultations are arranged over 45 days in Belgium and, where the potential exists for a cross-border impact, consultation with the countries in question is also organised.

On the basis of this EIA and the results of the public consultation, MUMM passes its recommendations to the Federal Minister for the Marine Environment. In its recommendations MUMM considers the project's acceptability to the marine environment and any conditions that might be required to assure its acceptability. The Minister then decides whether or not to grant the environmental permit. Depending on the complexities of the case, it can take about 6 to 8 months from submission of the application to the final decision of the Minister.

Besides the environmental permit procedure there is the matter of obtaining a domain concession for the proposed project area. The application is submitted to the General Energy Directorate of the Federal Public Service Economy, SMEs, Self-Employed and Energy, which advises the Minister for Energy. The domain concession is granted by the Federal Minister for Energy (Royal Decree of 20 December 2000, Belgian Official Journal of 30 December 2000, amended by Royal Decree of 28 September 2008, Belgian Official Journal of 30 October 2008) for the proposed project area. A domain concession may be granted before the environmental permit, but will not come into effect until the environmental permit is in place.

Finally, there is another procedure for the laying of cables (Royal Decree of 12 March 2002, Belgian Official Journal of 09 May 2002). Applications are made to the General Energy Directorate of the Federal Public Service Economy, SMEs, Self-Employed and Energy, which advises the Minister for Energy.

Present status

Since the beginning of 2016 nine projects have been granted permits to build and operate wind and/or energy farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea.

In the wind turbine zone we have, from north to south:

  • Mermaid, the most northerly farm in the north west of Bligh Bank;
  • Northwester 2, which is situated below Mermaid;
  • Belwind (stage 1) on Bligh Bank;
  • Nobelwind to the north and south of Belwind on Bligh Bank;
  • Seastar to the north west of Lodewijk Bank and the south east of Bligh Bank;
  • Northwind on Lodewijk bank;
  • C-Power on Thornton Bank;
  • Rentel between Lodewijk bank and Thornton Bank;
  • Norther, the most southerly farm to the south east of Thornton Bank.

windfarms map

Operational farms

Three of the nine licensed wind farms are already operational, i.e. C-Power , Belwind and Northwind.

In the initial, stage, in 2008, C-Power built the first 6 wind turbines (with gravity base foundations) on Thornton Bank in the Belgian marine area, 27 kilometres off the coast of Zeebrugge. At an output of 5 MW per wind turbine this offers a capacity of 30 MW. The first electricity from offshore wind turbines was produced and fed into the Belgian grid in 2009. In stages two and three 48 wind turbines in total were installed. In these stages the wind turbines were placed on jacket foundations. At an output of 6.15 MW per wind turbine this offered a capacity of 295.2 MW. The 54 wind turbines at the C-Power wind farm have been fully operational since July 2013 and offer a total capacity of 325.2 MW. They provide green energy for 300,000 homes.

C-Power was followed by Belwind. In September 2009, Belwind began the construction of 55 wind turbines on Bligh Bank, 46 kilometres off the coast of Zeebrugge. This farm became the world's furthest from the shoreline. The foundations were made from monopiles, driven 35m into the sea bed. The Belwind wind farm came online in December 2010. With 55 wind turbines, each with an output of 3 MW, and an Alstom Haliade test turbine of 6 MW, this offers a capacity of 171 MW, which provides green energy for about 160,000 Belgian homes a year.

Northwind the third operational wind farm, lies 38 km off the coast of Zeebrugge on Lodewijk Bank. This park has been in operation since May 2014 and has 72 turbines each with an output of 3 MW. It offers a capacity of 216 MW. This wind farm supplies more green power for 250,000 Belgian homes.

Thanks to these 3 wind farms some 710.000 Belgian homes are currently using green energy from 182 offshore wind turbines with a capacity of 712.2 MW. This makes Belgium a world leader in this new technology.

c-power wind farm

Planned farms

By 2020, a further 6 wind farms will be built in the area set aside for renewable energy in the Belgian North Sea. The 6 wind projects, which are already licensed, have reached various pre-construction stages.

On 18 January 2012 (amended on 19 October 2012, 28 March 2013 and 26 August 2014) NV Norther was granted an environmental permit to build and operate its offshore wind farm in the south east of Thornton Bank, 21 kilometres off the coast of Zeebrugge. A total capacity of 378 MW is planned for the Norther farm, based on 45 wind turbines with an output of 8.4 MW. This farm will provide green energy for some 350,000 homes.

On 15 February 2013 (amended on 3 December 2015) Rentel NV was granted an environmental permit to build and operate its offshore wind farm in the north west of Thornton Bank and the south east of Lodewijk Bank at a distance of 31 km from the coastline. The Rentel farm will have a total capacity of 294 MW provided by 42 turbines, each with a capacity of 7 MW. This farm will provide green energy for around 280,000 Belgian homes.

On 13 April 2015, THV Mermaid was granted an environmental permit to build and operate an offshore energy farm in the north west of Bligh Bank, at a distance of 50 km from the coastline. Mermaid is therefore the furthest licensed wind project from the shoreline. The Mermaid farm will have a total capacity of 232 to 266 MW provided by 27-41 wind turbines. This farm will provide green energy for 250,000 to 290,000 Belgian homes. The THV Mermaid was also granted an environmental permit to build and operate a pilot project involving wave energy converters with a total capacity of no more than 5 MW. A permit has been granted for one test field, at which one or more wave energy converters can be placed in the space between the wind turbines.

On 18 December 2015, NV Northwester 2 was granted an environmental permit to build and operate an offshore wind farm in the north west of Bligh Bank, 51 kilometres from the coastline. Between 22 and 32 wind turbines are planned for the Northwester wind farm, giving a total capacity of 217 to 227 MW. This farm will provide green energy for 240,000 to 250,000 Belgian homes.

On 7 October 2015 Belwind NV's environmental permit to build and operate an offshore wind farm was partially transferred to Nobelwind NV and the conditions of transfer were set. As a result, Nobelwind received an environmental permit to build and operate an offshore wind farm of 50 turbines of a capacity of 3.3 MW on Bligh Bank some 47 kilometres from the coastline. With a capacity of 165 MW, this farm will provide green energy for some 160.000 Belgian homes.

On 7 February 2014 NV Seastar was granted an environmental permit to build and operate an offshore wind farm to the north west of Lodewijk Bank and the south east of Bligh Bank at a distance of 41 kilometres from the coastline. A total capacity of 246 MW is planned for the Seastar wind farm, which will have 41 wind turbines. The wind farm will produce green energy for 270,000 Belgian homes.

All things considered, we can safely say that once operational, the farms will give us between 409 and 433 wind turbines in the Belgian part of the North Sea. Taking into account the 182 currently operational wind turbines, this means that the amount of electricity generated by wind farms will increase threefold, and that between 2.2 and 2.3 million Belgian homes will be using green ‘North Sea Energy’ by 2020.

Monitoring

The consequences of the installation of windmills on the marine ecosystem have to be monitored. As foreseen in the environmental permit, OD Nature coordinates a monitoring programme to estimate the positive and negative effects of the windmills at sea.

For this monitoring, MUMM collaborates with INBO, ILVO, Marine Biology Section of Ghent University, INTEC. The results are available (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2018). Also the integrated report on the impact of offshore wind farms (2013) is available.

Grontmij Vlaanderen carried out a sociological sea view survey regarding the monitoring programme for offshore windmill parks.

belwind wind farm

wind farm from rib

Parcs éoliens en mer du Nord

Projets » Législation » Monitoring »


Le vent est une source d’énergie inépuisable. La production d’électricité à partir du vent ne génère aucun déchet et n’émet aucun gaz nocif. La construction de parcs éoliens permet donc, d’une part, de diminuer les émissions de CO2 et, d’autre part, de contribuer à l’objectif en matière d’énergie durable ou renouvelable imposé à la Belgique par l’Europe. L’énergie éolienne en mer constitue une source importante d’énergie renouvelable pour la Belgique. Les principaux objectifs européens sont, entre autres, de diminuer de 20 % les émissions de gaz à effet de serre par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 et de produire 20 % de l’énergie à partir de sources durables. Dans ce cadre, la Belgique a pour objectifs nationaux de réduire de 15 % ses émissions de CO2 et d’augmenter à 13 % la part des énergies durables dans la consommation finale d’énergie.

À l’initiative du ministre de la mer du Nord, une zone de 238 km² a été délimitée dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord pour la production d’énergie renouvelable dans le cadre du plan d'aménagement des espaces marins de mars 2014. Aussi appelée « zone éolienne », cette zone couvre environ 7 % de la partie belge de la mer du Nord.

D’ici 2020, entre 409 et 433 éoliennes seront implantées dans cette zone, pour une capacité totale de 2.230 à 2.280 MW. Cela signifie, en principe, que les parcs éoliens couvriront environ 10 % de la capacité électrique belge totale et pourront alimenter en énergie près de la moitié des ménages belges. Si l’on tient compte d’un facteur de capacité de 50 % pour les parcs éoliens et d’une puissance nominale belge de 20.000 MW par an, l’on peut supposer que les parcs éoliens en mer fourniront 5 % de la puissance d’ici 2020, soit un quart de l’énergie que la Belgique doit produire à partir de sources durables conformément aux objectifs européens. En tablant sur l’objectif national de produire 13 % d’énergie durable, l’énergie éolienne en mer est appelée à jouer un rôle majeur.

Législation

Pour pouvoir construire un parc éolien, le projet doit disposer de plusieurs permis, dont une concession domaniale, une autorisation de construction et un permis d’exploitation du parc.

Pour chaque parc éolien, la procédure de demande des autorisations se déroule conformément à la loi visant la protection du milieu marin (loi du 20 janvier 1999 publiée au Moniteur belge le 12 mars 1999) et à deux arrêtés royaux, l’AR VEMA du 7 septembre 2003 (modifié le 26 décembre 2013), établissant la procédure d’octroi des permis et autorisations de l’activité, et l’AR MER du 9 septembre 2003 (modifiée le 26 décembre 2013), fixant les règles relatives à l'évaluation des incidences sur l'environnement.

La procédure décrite ci-dessous de demande de permis de construction et d’exploitation de parc éolien se base sur ces AR.

Le demandeur soumet un rapport sur les incidences environnementales (RIE) au Service scientifique « Unité de Gestion du Modèle Mathématique de la mer du Nord (UGMM) » de la DO Nature. L’UGMM réalise ensuite une évaluation des incidences sur l’environnement (EIE). Dans le cadre de son évaluation, l’UGMM peut, si nécessaire, réaliser ou faire réaliser des études ou enquêtes supplémentaires. Le public est également consulté : une consultation publique est organisée en Belgique pendant une durée de 45 jours et, dans le cas où des incidences transfrontalières seraient possibles, une consultation avec les pays concernés est aussi organisée.

Sur la base de cette EIE et des résultats de la consultation publique, l’UGMM conseille le ministre fédéral compétent pour le milieu marin. Dans son avis, l'UGMM se prononce sur l'admissibilité du projet pour le milieu marin et, le cas échéant, sur les conditions auxquelles le projet doit satisfaire pour être admissible. Le ministre décide alors d’octroyer ou non le permis environnemental. Entre le moment de la demande et la décision finale du ministre, il s’écoule de 6 à 8 mois, selon le degré de complexité du dossier.

En plus de la procédure relative au permis environnemental, il existe une procédure relative à l’octroi d’une concession domaniale pour la zone de projet proposée. Cette demande est introduite auprès de la Direction générale de l’Énergie du Service public fédéral Économie, PME, Classes moyennes et Énergie, qui conseille le ministre de l’Énergie. La concession domaniale est accordée par le ministre fédéral de l’Énergie (arrêté royal du 20 décembre 2000, publié au Moniteur le 30 décembre 2000 et modifié par l’arrêté royal du 28 septembre 2008 publié au Moniteur le 30 octobre 2008) pour la zone de projet proposée. Une concession domaniale peut être octroyée avant le permis environnemental, mais elle n’est valable qu’une fois que le permis est lui aussi accordé.

Enfin, il existe aussi une procédure concernant la pose des câbles nécessaires (arrêté royal du 12 mars 2002 publié au Moniteur belge le 9 mai 2002). Les demandes sont soumises à la Direction générale de l’Énergie du Service public fédéral Économie, PME, Classes moyennes et Énergies, qui conseille le ministre.

Situation actuelle

Depuis début 2016, neuf projets de construction et d’exploitation de parc éoliens et/ou énergétiques ont été autorisés dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord.

De nord au sud de la zone éolienne, nous avons :

  • Mermaid, le parc le plus au nord, qui se trouve au nord-ouest du Bligh Bank;
  • Northwester 2, juste en-dessous de Mermaid;
  • Belwind (phase 1), sur le Bligh Bank;
  • Nobelwind, au nord et au sud de Belwind, sur le Bligh Bank;
  • Seastar, au nord-ouest du Lodewijkbank et au sud-est du Bligh Bank;
  • Northwind, sur le Lodewijkbank;
  • C-Power, sur le Thorntonbank
  • Rentel, entre le Lodewijkbank et le Thorntonbank;
  • Norther, le parc le plus au sud, qui se trouve au sud-est du Thorntonbank.

windfarms map fr

Parcs opérationnels

Sur les neuf parcs éoliens autorisés, trois sont déjà opérationnels, à savoir C-Power, Belwind et Northwind.

En 2008, dans une première phase, C-Power a construit les six premières éoliennes (avec des fondations gravitaires) à 27 kilomètres au large de Zeebruges, sur le banc de sable Thorntonbank, dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord. Chaque éolienne ayant une puissance de 5 MW, une capacité de 30 MW était ainsi fournie. Début 2009, pour la première fois, de l’électricité a été produite à partir d’éoliennes en mer et injectée dans le réseau électrique belge. Dans une deuxième et une troisième phases, 48 éoliennes ont été installées. Lors de ces phases, les éoliennes ont été placées sur des fondations de type « jacket ». Avec une puissance de 6,15 MW par éolienne, une capacité de 295,2 MW était atteinte. Le parc éolien C-Power, constitué de 54 éoliennes, est pleinement opérationnel depuis juillet 2013 et a une capacité totale de 325,2 MW. Il fournit de l’énergie verte à 300 000 ménages.

C-Power a été suivi par Belwind. En septembre 2009, Belwind a entamé la construction de 55  éoliennes à 46 kilomètres au large de Zeebruges, sur le banc de sable du Bligh Bank. Il s’agit du parc éolien le plus éloigné de la côte au monde. Pour les fondations, Belwind a opté pour des monopieux, qui s’enfoncent à 35 m dans les fonds marins. Le parc éolien Belwind est entré en service en décembre 2010. Avec 55  éoliennes d’une puissance de 3 MW chacune et une éolienne test Haliade de 6 MW, développée par Alstom, une capacité de 171 MW est fournie, qui alimente quelque 160 000 ménages belges par an en énergie verte.

Le troisième parc éolien opérationnel, Northwind, se trouve à 38 kilomètres au large de Zeebruges, sur le Lodewijkbank. Ce parc est en activité depuis mai 2014 et compte 72 éoliennes de chacune 3 MW, soit une capacité de 216 MW. Grâce à ce parc éolien, 250 000 ménages belges supplémentaires ont pu être alimentés en énergie verte.

Ces trois pars éoliens permettent actuellement d’alimenter quelque 710 000 ménages belges en énergie verte, provenant de 182 éoliennes en mer, avec une capacité de 712,2 MW. La Belgique se classe ainsi parmi les leaders du secteur.

c-power wind farm

Parcs prévus

D’ici 2020, six parcs supplémentaires seront construits dans la zone dédiée à l’énergie renouvelable de la partie belge de la mer du Nord. Ces six projets éoliens autorisés en sont à différentes phases préalables à la construction.

La SA Norther a reçu un permis environnemental le 18 janvier 2012 (modifié le 19 octobre 2012, le 28 mars 2013 et le 26 août 2014) pour la construction et l’exploitation de son parc éolien offshore au sud-est du Thorntonbank, à 21 kilomètres au large de Zeebruges. Le Northerpark devrait avoir une puissance nominale de 378 MW, grâce à 45 éoliennes de 8,4 MW. Ce parc alimentera 350 000 ménages environ en énergie verte.

La SA Rentel a reçu un permis environnemental le 15 février 2013 (modifié le 3 décembre 2015) pour la construction et l’exploitation de son parc éolien offshore au nord-ouest du Thorntonbank et au sud-est du Lodewijkbank, à 31 km au large des côtes. Avec 42 éoliennes de 7 MW, le parc Rentel aura une puissance nominale de 294 MW et alimentera 280 ménages belges environ en énergie verte.

La THV Mermaid a reçu un permis environnemental le 13 avril 2015 pour la construction et l’exploitation de son parc énergétique offshore situé au nord-ouest du Bligh Bank, à 50 km au large des côtes. Mermaid est le projet éolien autorisé le plus éloigné des côtes. Avec 27 à 41  éoliennes, le parc Mermaid aura une puissance nominale de 232 à 266 MW. Ce parc alimentera entre 250 000 et 290 000 ménages belges en énergie verte. La TVH Mermaid a aussi reçu un permis environnemental pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un projet pilote de convecteurs d'énergie houlomoteurs d’une puissance nominale de 5 MW maximum. Une zone expérimentale est autorisée, dans laquelle un ou plusieurs convecteurs seront installés entre les éoliennes.

La SA Northwester a reçu un permis environnemental le 18 décembre 2015 pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un parc éolien offshore à environ 51 kilomètres au large des côtes et au nord-ouest du Bligh Bank. 22 à 32  éoliennes sont prévues dans le parc Northwester, pour une puissance nominale de 217 à 227 MW. Ce parc alimentera de 240 000 à 250 000 ménages belges en énergie verte.

Le 7 octobre 2015, le permis environnemental pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un parc éolien offshore de Belwind SA a été partiellement cédé à Nobelwind SA et les modalités du transfert ont été fixées. Nobelwind a ainsi obtenu un permis environnemental pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un parc éolien offshore à environ 47 kilomètres au large des côtes, sur le Bligh Bank. Ce parc comptera 50 éoliennes de 3,3 MW, soit une capacité totale de 165 MW. Il alimentera quelque 160 000 ménages belges en énergie verte.

La SA Seastar a reçu un permis environnemental le 7 février 2014 pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un parc éolien offshore au nord-ouest du Lodewijkbank et au sud-est du Bligh Bank, à 41 kilomètres au large des côtes. Le parc éolien Seastar devrait compter 41  éoliennes, pour une puissance nominale de 246 MW. Le parc alimentera ainsi quelque 270 000 ménages belges en énergie verte.

En résumé, une fois que tous les parcs seront opérationnels, la partie belge de la mer du Nord comptera entre 409 et 433 éoliennes. Si l’on tient compte des 182  éoliennes déjà en service, cela signifie, en pratique, que la quantité d’électricité qui sera produite par les parcs éoliens en mer triplera d’ici à 2020 et qu’entre 2 220 000 et 2 300 000 ménages belges consommeront de l’« énergie verte de la mer du Nord ».

Monitoring

Les conséquences de l’installation des éoliennes sur l’écosystème marin doivent être surveillées. A cette fin, DO Nature exécute le programme de monitoring inscrit dans les permis environnementaux pour évaluer les effets (positifs et négatifs) des éoliennes en mer.

Ce programme de monitoring est exécuté en collaboration avec INBO, ILVO, la Section Biologie marine de l’Université de Gand, INTEC. Les résultats sont disponibles (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2018). Aussi le rapport intégré sur l’impact des parcs à éoliennes au large est disponible (2013).

La société Grontmij Vlaanderen a conduit une étude sociologique dans le cadre du programme de monitoring des parcs à éoliennes en mer.

belwind wind farm

wind farm from rib