Cables and Pipelines

Projects »


The Belgian part of the North Sea is criss-crossed with cables and pipelines. There are 3 gas pipelines, 27 telecommunications cables (not all of which are in use) and 5 power cables; there are also plans to lay the 'Nemo Link' high voltage cable between Richborough in Great Britain and Zeebrugge in Belgium. There are no oil pipelines in the Belgian part of the North Sea.

The gas pipelines are:

  • The Zeepipe pipeline, which connects the Distrigaz terminal in the Port of Zeebruges to a pipeline in Norway;
  • The Inerconnector pipeline, which connects Zeebrugge to Bacton (eastern English coast);
  • The NorFra-pipeline (currently called the Franpipe) between Norway and the Port of Dunkirk.

cables map

These gas pipelines have a diameter of roughly 1 meter. They are buried in the sea bed, at a depth of 70 cm to 2 m, and covered with a protective layer of gravel.

The telecommunication cables are generally at a depth of 60 to 90 cm below the sea bed. There are two types of cable: coaxial cables (of which one is still in use), which were laid between 1950 and 1988; and fibre optic cables, which have been laid exclusively since their introduction in the 1980s.

The gas pipelines in the Belgian part of the North Sea have a total length of 163 km. There are 914 km of telecommunication cables and, by the end of 2016 there will be a total of 220 km of power cables.

The construction of offshore wind farms in the North Sea has considerably increased the number of high voltage cables needed for future electricity transmission. Nine cable licences were already granted by mid-2016, (1 cable for Mermaid, Northwester 2, Nobelwind, Seastar, Northwind, Rentel and 2 cables for Belwind, C-Power and Norther). The 5 cables for Northwind, Belwind and C-Power are the only ones to have been installed and commissioned at the present time.

The demarcation of a corridor in the sea bed as a result of the approval of the Marine Spatial Plan has brought a more structured approach to the laying of cables and pipelines.

cables

Câbles et pipelines

Projets »


La partie belge de la mer du Nord abrite de nombreux câbles et pipelines : 3 gazoducs, 27 câbles de télécommunication (pas tous en usage) et 5 câbles électriques. Le câble à haute tension Nemo sera aussi installé prochainement entre Richborough, en Grande-Bretagne, et Zeebruges. On ne trouve aucun oléoduc dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord.

Les gazoducs sont les suivants :

  • le pipeline Zeepipe, qui relie le terminal Distrigaz, dans le port de Zeebruges, à un pipeline en Norvège ;
  • le pipeline Interconnector, qui rattache Zeebruges à Bacton (côte est de l'Angleterre) ;
  • le pipeline NorFra (actuellement appelé Franpipe), entre la Norvège et le port de Dunkerque.

cables carte

Ces gazoducs ont un diamètre d'environ un mètre. Ils sont enterrés à une profondeur de 70 centimètres à 2 mètres dans le fond marin et sont ensuite recouverts de gravier protecteur.

Les câbles de télécommunication sont généralement enterrés à une profondeur de 60 à 90 centimètres dans le fond marin. On trouve deux sortes de câbles : les câbles coaxiaux et les câbles à fibre optique. Les câbles coaxiaux, dont un seul est encore en usage, ont été posés entre 1950 et 1988. Depuis l'introduction de la fibre optique dans les années 80, seul ce type de câble est désormais utilisé.

La longueur totale des gazoducs dans la partie belge de la mer du Nord s'élève à 163 km. Celle des câbles de télécommunication est de 914 km, tandis que celle des câbles électriques posés d'ici la fin 2016 sera de 220 km.

En raison de la construction de parcs éoliens en mer du Nord, le nombre de câbles à haute tension pour le transport de l'électricité va augmenter considérablement. Mi-2016, 9 autorisations de pose de câble avaient déjà été délivrées (un câble pour Mermaid, Northwester 2, Nobelwind, Seastar, Northwind, Rentel et deux câbles pour Belwind, C-Power et Norther). Seuls les 5 câbles pour Northwind, Belwind et C-Power sont déjà installés et utilisés.

Avec l'approbation du plan d'aménagement des espaces marins, qui prévoit un corridor pour pipelines et câbles, la pose des câbles et des conduites sera mieux structurée.

cables